The synagogue in Nyíregyháza was built in 1924-1932 according to the project by Lippòt Baumhorn, as a Neolog synagogue. Immediately after World War II, it was restored as an Orthodox synagogue. Its bimah was shifted to the centre of the prayer hall and murals of subjects customary in traditional synagogues were painted. The synagogue serves a vibrant Jewish community. The adjacent building is the communal house; it has also a museum and a mikveh.